Roasted Sicilian Eggplant & Ricotta Bake

IMG_9624

A beautiful new grocery store chain opened in my area- so exciting!! On my first visit, the produce section had a giant table covered in vegetables from a Hudson Valley farm (with lovely pictures of the farm hanging over it!). The center of the table had a pile of gorgeous Sicilian eggplant- round, light purple, HUGE…. delicious! I increased the amount of eggplant in this Food and Wine “staff-favorite” dish because I had to buy more than two of these beauties! 🙂

IMG_2298

This dish was a wonderful vegetarian main but would also work as a hearty side dish. The eggplant was tender and sweet with brightness from the lemon zest-seasoned creamy ricotta. The crunchy bread topping was the icing on the cake. We ate it with a fabulous arugula salad on the side. My meat-loving husband enjoyed it too!

  •  3 large Sicilian eggplants, cut into 1-inch cubes (2 large eggplants could be substituted)
  • 1/2 cup plus 1 T extra-virgin olive oil
  • cooking spray, for greasing the pan
  • coarse salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 8 scallions, thinly slices
  • 2 T unsalted butter, cubed
  • 1 1/2 cups whole milk ricotta cheese
  • 4 T Greek Yogurt
  • 1 tsp finely grated lemon zest
  • 2 tsp fresh lemon juice
  • 1 T finely chopped flat-leaf parsley
  • 6 oz baguette, torn into 1/2-inch pieces, crust removed, if desired (I left it for the crunch) (alternatively country white bread could be used)
  1. Preheat the oven to 450 degrees (I set my oven to convection roast.)
  2. On 2 baking sheets, spread the eggplant in an even layer. Drizzle with 6 tablespoons of the olive oil, season with salt and pepper and toss. Roast for 10 minutes.
  3. In a small bowl, toss the scallions with 2 tablespoons of olive oil. Add the onions to the eggplant and dot with the butter. Roast for 15 minutes longer, stirring, until the eggplant is tender.
  4. In a medium bowl, stir the ricotta with the Greek yogurt, lemon zest, lemon juice, and parsley and season with salt and pepper.
  5. In a small bowl, toss the bread with the remaining 1 T of olive oil.
  6. Lightly grease a 9 x 13-inch baking dish with cooking spray. Transfer the eggplant and onions to the baking dish.
  7. Dollop the ricotta mixture on top and spread to cover. Scatter the bread on top.
  8. Bake for about 10 minutes, until the bread is golden.

Note: The roasted eggplant and onions can be refrigerated overnight. Bring to room temperature before baking.

IMG_9630

One Year Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

15 responses to “Roasted Sicilian Eggplant & Ricotta Bake

  1. Yum, this sounds so delicious. It’s so nice to be able to get local produce, isn’t it? I usually shop at the market, but if for some reason I need to go to the store, I am always glad when I see local produce, with the actual name of a town, farm or farmer on the label!

  2. Sue

    you did it again. I want this! Bravissimo!

  3. Yummm I usually end up with so many eggplants in my farm baskets around this time of year and I run out of ideas for how to use them. Can’t wait to give this a try!

  4. Traditionally Modern Food

    Aww looks yummy

  5. OMG! Josette this is just heavenly.

    On the other note, I am doing an Indian festival event where I am planning an Italian American fusion menu. Will be going through your blog for some yummy pasta dishes. I hope you don’t mind me linking to some of your posts in the event.

    Sonal

  6. Simply delicious!!!!
    lovin the way you add baguess crus on top of it, add some extra crisp goodness..

  7. This looks great, Josette!

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,459 other subscribers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Mexican Sweet Corn Cake (Pan de Elote)
Vietnamese-American Garlic Noodles
Banana Bread with Crunchy Sugar Topping
Churro Cupcakes with Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting
One-Pan Orzo with Spinach & Feta
One-Pot Crispy Gnocchi with Burst Tomatoes & Fresh Mozzarella
One-Pan Shrimp Scampi with Orzo
Samin Nosrat's Buttermilk-Brined Roast Chicken
Italian Sausage & Mushroom Ragu with Pappardelle
Ravneet Gill's Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookies
Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge