Raspberry-Ricotta Cake

This recipe encourages the use of frozen berries! It was very quick to put together, had a lovely presentation, and most importantly was delicious as well. ๐Ÿ™‚ We ate this cake for dessert but it would also be an amazing coffee cake. This recipe is from Bon Appรฉtit.

Yield: Serves 8

  • nonstick vegetable oil spray
  • 1ยฝ cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • ยพ teaspoon coarseย salt
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1ยฝ cups ricotta
  • ยฝ teaspoon vanilla extract
  • ยฝ cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 cup frozen raspberries or blackberries, divided
  1. Preheat oven to 350ยฐ (preferably on convection).
  2. Line a 9โ€-diameter cake pan with parchment paper and lightly coat with nonstick spray.
  3. Whisk flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl.
  4. Whisk eggs, ricotta, and vanilla in a medium bowl until smooth; fold into dry ingredients just until blended.
  5. Then fold in butter, followed by ยพ cup raspberries, taking care not to crush berries.
  6. Scrape batter into prepared pan and scatter remaining ยผ cup raspberries over top.
  7. Bake cake until golden brown and a tester inserted into the center comes out clean, 35 to 40 minutes on convection or up to 60 minutes in a standard oven. Let cool at least 20 minutes before unmolding.

Note: Cake can be made 2 days ahead. Store tightly wrapped at room temperature.

IMG_4554

One Year Ago:

Two Years Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

25 responses to “Raspberry-Ricotta Cake

  1. Sounds delicious!! I’ve made Ricotta and Chocolate cake in the past and it was lovely, but I look forward to trying your version as it is very seasonal and would be perfect for picnic! Thank you! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Looks delicious, I don’t think I’ve baked with ricotta cheese yet, this recipe has inspired me to do so. Thanks!

  3. I think I’ll bake this and take it to our friend’s 4th of July party! It’s perfect. Thank you for the inspiration.

  4. Wow ricotta cheesecake- sounds interesting and delightful….

  5. Lovely cake Josette! Looks simple, beautiful and yummy! Thanks for sharing! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Gorgeous looking cake Josette, I definitely want to try this. Two questions though…would that be whole ricotta, and do you throw in the raspberries that are frozen? Do they sink to the bottom?

    • I did use whole ricotta- and I did use the raspberries frozen. I just folded them into the batter. They didn’t sink- most likely because this batter is somewhat dense. The insurance policy is also adding the additional berries directly on the top right before baking! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Where do you find the recipes for such rustic desserts? This is just filled with depth of flavors.

  8. You know what’s funny? I was just thinking about baking with ricotta the other day. I’ve never done it and have always wondered about the texture! Love your cake, Josette. It’s so pretty. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. This is a beautiful cake Josette! I love how the berries dotted the top and just begs you to dig in! It would make a wonderful coffee cake too. I could use a piece with my coffee please!

  10. Pingback: Raspberry-Ricotta Cake | homethoughtsfromabroad626

  11. It looks lovely, I am going to have to try it.

  12. Superb – so glad that that Martha reblogged this recicpe, as I have justpicked up a large tub of ricotta instead of Mascarpone and didn’t know what to do with it (I always have frozen raspberries as a stand by in my freezer………)

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 967 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
