Ottolenghi’s Tomato & Pomegranate Salad

This salad was fresh, bright, colorful, and loaded with flavor. I loved the crunch from the pomegranate seeds too. We ate it as part of our Middle Eastern feast along with grilled chicken thighs, Hummus, Baked Rice, Deconstructed Baba Ghanouj, and warm naan. Delicious!

This recipe was adapted from Yotam Ottolenghi via The New York Times, contributed by Sam Sifton. I made my own za’atar spice blend and omitted the mint. It would be a lovely side with any grilled meat. Perfect for a picnic too.

I’m bringing this dish to Angie’s Fiesta Friday #127 co-hosted by my friends Suzanne @A Pug in the Kitchen and Jess @ Cooking is my Sport. Enjoy!

For the Za’atar:

  • 1 T thyme
  • 1 T sesame seeds, toasted in a dry skillet and coarsely pulsed in a spice grinder
  • 1 tsp sumac
  • 1/4 tsp coarse salt

For the Salad:

  • 2 pints mixed small or cherry tomatoes, of varying colors
  • 2 teaspoons za’atar (see above)
  • 3 ½ tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil, divided
  • seeds from 1 pomegranate (I used a 5.3 oz package of pomegranate seeds)
  • ½ yellow bell pepper, seeds removed and very thinly sliced
  • ½ small red onion, peeled and very thinly sliced
  • ⅓ cup loosely packed fresh basil leaves, chiffonade
  • ⅓ cup loosely packed fresh mint leaves, chiffonade (I omitted the mint)
  • freshly squeezed lemon juice (from 1/2 of a lemon)
  • flaky sea salt such as Fleur de Sel
  • 3 ½ ounces manouri or feta cheese, broken into small chunks
  1. Make the Za’atar: Toast the sesame seeds in a dry skillet until lightly toasted. Pulse in a spice grinder until a powder is formed. Combine with sumac, thyme, and coarse salt. Set aside.
  2. Halve or quarter the tomatoes so that they are all roughly the same size, and place them in a large mixing bowl.
  3. Mix two teaspoons of the za’atar with 1 1/2 tablespoons of olive oil, and set aside.
  4. To the bowl with tomatoes, add the pomegranate seeds, sliced pepper and onion, the herbs, lemon juice, cheese, and the remaining 2 tablespoons of oil and 1 teaspoon of salt.
  5. Gently mix the salad, then transfer it to a large shallow bowl or serving platter. Drizzle the za’atar mixture over the salad and serve.

One Year Ago:

Two Years Ago:

Three Years Ago:

 

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

26 responses to “Ottolenghi’s Tomato & Pomegranate Salad

  1. The meal with hummus, chicken, etc. and this salad sounds really good! Happy FF, Josette. 🙂

  2. michelleoblogoff

    Josette-
    Sounds delicious! I love crunch in my salad so the pomegranate will be perfect!
    Thanks!

  3. Love Ottolenghi and this is one of his fabulous combinations of textures and flavors. Yum

  4. I would love to have this salad on the side with some chicken shawarma and hummus. Well done Josette 😀

  5. I made this salad for a food blogger’s picnic last summer and it was a huge success. The pomegranate is the key to its uniqueness!

  6. This salad is one of my favorites. I like the idea of adding hummus and pita to make it a meal.

  7. This salad sounds amazing. I’ve never used za’atar and wasn’t sure what was in it. Love this salad and it sure sounds like you had a feast!

  8. What a lively and vibrant salad! I did not know you could buy pomegranate seeds in a package, that sure makes this a lot easier. 🙂

  9. I think I have loved every recipe I have ever tried from Ottolenghi, this salad is lovely and delicious and the perfect venue to use great summer produce. I love your Za’atar spice mix. Thanks so much for bringing this to Fiesta Friday.

  10. What a beautiful salad and I love the flavors!

  11. Love this healthy and flavorful salad! I am a huge fan of Mediterranean cuisine! It is very healthy!

  12. Yum! I have made this recipe from his book too, and it is awesome! My hubby and I devoured it! Great photo, Josette! 😀

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,459 other subscribers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Mexican Sweet Corn Cake (Pan de Elote)
Vietnamese-American Garlic Noodles
One-Pot Crispy Gnocchi with Burst Tomatoes & Fresh Mozzarella
Banana Bread with Crunchy Sugar Topping
Churro Cupcakes with Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting
One-Pan Orzo with Spinach & Feta
Ethiopian Chickpea Stew (Shiro Wat) & Stewed Collard Greens (Gomen Wat)
Fettuccine Alfredo with Chili Crisp & Spinach
One-Pan Shrimp Scampi with Orzo
Portuguese Rolls
Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge